Wanted…some Christmas spirit!

In years past, I have always been full of the Christmas spirit.  I seek out the “just right” gifts to give to those I care about.  I decorate my house the weekend after Thanksgiving.  I listen to the 24 hour Christmas music radio station nonstop.  Basically, I embrace the month of December and all of the magic it can provide.  I was even able to do this when deployed over the holiday season.  This year?  Not so much. 

Don’t get me wrong, I have the Christmas music station playing permanently in my car.  But my normal exuberance over Christmas just isn’t there.  I haven’t started Christmas shopping yet, mainly because I can’t muster the motivation.  I’m really busy with work this month which is sapping my energy and making it so that when I’m done for the day the last thing I want to do is shop.  (I know, I can’t believe I wrote that last sentence either…too tired to shop?  Really?!)  I’ve done no holiday baking.  And a $1 Trader Joe’s Advent calendar is the extent of my Christmas decorations at home right now.

A chocolate a day brings Christmas your way!

A chocolate a day brings Christmas your way!

I idea of lugging all of my Christmas decorations out right now is exhausting to me.  Especially since I feel like I haven’t been home much anyway.  When I am at Whole Foods and see the mini Christmas trees for sale, I get a desire to buy one, but then don’t because I don’t want to do the work.  When I see posts online about Christmas decorations, I feel inspired.  Then I realize I don’t want to put forth the effort to execute them. 

A little sparkle to enjoy during working hours.

A little sparkle to enjoy during working hours.

I did a little better in my office, but only because I spend so much of my day there.  I purchased the tinsel tree for $5 at the grocery store and threw on some lights I purchased at the same time.  I also have a small poinsettia in the window and a Christmas box of Hershey Kisses on my desk.  It isn’t much, but it is at least something.

How do you get yourself in the Christmas spirit?  I need some help, and maybe a push so I don’t get called Ebenezer!

Comments

  1. I’m totally the same way. It just seems like so much work for just ME and the cats would destroy everything anyway. 😦 At this rate, my honey will have more Christmas decorations while deployed than I will at home. LOL

  2. Courtney D. says:

    I have been feeling the same way! It’s tough working in retail and having to “fake it” all day and then come home and feel all the Christmas spirit. Last week I forced myself to get out my decorations and put up my tree. I DID NOT want to do it. But I cranked up the holiday tunes and put up the tree. And you know what? I am so glad I did. It made a world of difference. Now, as soon as I get home at night I turn on the Christmas tree and give myself 15 minutes to sit and relax and enjoy the tree. It has helped sooooo much! I hope you find your Christmas spirit soon!

    • I know you’re right. If I can get out of work at a decent time tonight, maybe I’ll decorate tonight. I might not go as crazy as normal, but I need to at least get the tree out!

  3. I’m having trouble, too. But that’s probably because we just moved into a new house and I’ve been in unpacking purgatory….but also because it’s 80+ degrees every day and singing about walking in a winter wonderland just feels odd. You’d think it would be easy to get in the spirit when the stores have had christmas merchandise out for months, but I think it may be having an adverse reaction on me. I haven’t purchased one gift. I am not listening to Christmas music 24/7 yet. I’m beginning to wonder where my spirit went. Nevertheless, I’ll be dragging my tree out this weekend because I know i’d regret it i I didn’t. I hope you’ll be able to muster up some spirit soon!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Wanted…some Christmas spirit! […]

Thanks for your comment!

