12/12/12

How many people are going to talk about 12/12/12 today?  My guess is a bunch.  And why not?  It is cool to think that this is the last time we will see a date like this in our lifetime.  My 12/12/12 started pretty early, but it was for a good reason.

I had an appointment at the gym to get my RMR and body fat tested this morning.  RMR is Resting Metabolic Rate.  This number represents the calories your body burns to maintain vital body functions (heart rate, brain function, breathing).  Basically, it is the number of calories a person burns in a day at rest.  I used the Body Gem and the way they test is you just breath into a machine for about 5-10 minutes and then it gives you your RMR.  Mine was higher than I expected, which was surprising.  I also had my body fat tested two ways.  The first was with an Omron Body Fat Analyzer.  This gave me a body fat percentage and my BMI.  The second was with the Saehan Skinfold Caliper.  The difference in body fat percentage between the two was about 6%, which was interesting.  I decided somewhere between the two numbers was my body fat and while it isn’t great, it isn’t horrible either.

What this was able to do was give me a great jumping off point for restarting my fitness.  To say I have fallen off the fitness train would be an understatement.  I’ve been pretty busy with work and my motivation levels have not been there at all.  To make matters worse, my weight it a tad higher that I’d like it to be.  My clothes all still fit (a bonus of being 6 feet tall…a few extra pounds doesn’t show) but I’m not happy with what has happened.  I finally decided that I need to put myself first and make working out a priority in my life if I believe it is one.  And since I like being able to see results (it’s hard for me to see results on my own body), I decided to get these tests this morning.  I’ll go back in 8-12 weeks and check back in to see where I’m at.  I’m curious how it will go.

I finished up my morning with a quick 30 minute circuit-type workout.  It was awesome and left me exhausted and I’m sure I’ll be sore tomorrow.  Basically, I did a session of rowing followed by three exercises and did this three times.  You can do as much or as little weight as you want.  This is one of those workouts that is super easy to modify.

 

12/12/12 Workout

12/12/12 Workout

 

By 6:20 this morning I was done with my workout and ready to conquer the day.  I might fall asleep by 3 pm, but it is a good start.  And I can already feel it in my upper back from the rowing.  It feels good to have my workout done early.  Maybe the morning is my “time” to workout.  Time will tell, but I’m ready for this change.  Hope everyone has a great day!

Thanks for your comment!

